Databases

Databases by Subject Heading
Arts
Biography
Books & Reading
Business
Careers
Cooking/Gardening/Home
Education
Encyclopedias
General Reference
Health
History
Homework
Legal/Taxes
Library Catalogs
Magazines & Newspapers
Science & Technology
Social Sciences
Shirley Links

Arts

Grove Art Online

(Need lib. card number)

funded by C/W MARS

Provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Fine Arts and Music Collection Access to more than 100 full-text magazines and journals to support research in drama, music, art history and film making.
Communications and Mass Media Collection From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current information in full text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics and many more.
Back to Top

Biography
Biography in Context Multiple search options lead to contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Back to Top

Books & Reading
Books and Authors Over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorite links.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Over 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors.
Literature Resource Center Up to date biographical information, overviews, full-text criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers.

Novelist

(Need lib. card number)

Funded by C/W MARS

Search hundreds of thousands of popular fiction titles, retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides and custom created articles and lists.
Back to Top

Business
Business Insights: Essentials A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Economics and Theory With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.
General BusinessFile ASAP Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Small Business Collection Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find hundreds of subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Back to Top

Careers
Communications & Mass Media Collection A custom collection of more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Criminal Justice Collection Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge, offering more than 700 journals.
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection With current and relevant content from over 800 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Information Science & Library Issues Collection This collection provides current and accurate information for information professionals and other knowledge workers. Topics include information infrastructure, data processing techniques and metadata architectures.
LearningExpress (Learn-a-Test) Funded by the Worcester Public Library. Online test preparation and math, reading and writing courses. Including: advanced placement, civil service, college entrance, graduate school entrance, college prep, US Citizenship, ASVAB and TOEFL.

To log in to Learn-a-Test:

New Users:
  • Select "New User"
  • Your User Name starts with 01605, then the first 9 digits of your library card number (without D or spaces).
  • Create a password of your choice
  • Then you will be offered two options:
  • Choose Worcester Public Library option
  • Click Update
Returning Users:
  • Select "Returning User"
  • Login with your User Name and Password
Nursing Resource Center This resource offers premier supplemental reference material geared to the education and research needs of nursing students, providing relevant, easy-to-understand information on nursing topics that is presented in an intuitive interface.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection This collection includes hundreds of thousands of articles updated daily from nearly 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Users will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting) and more.
Vocation & Careers Collection Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Massachusetts Job Search Websites This page (developed by the counselors of the MRC) includes listings of popular job hunting sites, hints on searching the Internet for job listings and information about posting your resume on the Internet.
North Central Career Center (Leominster) Whether you recently lost your job, left your job, or are just looking for a better position, the North Central Career Centers are here to help you conduct an effective job search.
Back to Top

Cooking/Gardening/Home
Agriculture Collection Broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields. Access to nearly 200 titles that span the industry from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Culinary Arts Collection Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection Farmers, landscape architects and biotechnologists alike will enjoy this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.
Home Improvement Collection Coverage includes nearly 100 home improvement titles on topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements and many more.
Back to Top

Education
Educator's Reference Complete A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports and premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
MTEL Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure, access to sample tests.
Back to Top

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica Online Edition Browse media, video, timelines, world data, compare countries, world atlas, quotations, gateway to the classics, spanish-english dictionary, primary sources and E-books in this trusted reference source online.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online for Kids Encyclopedia Britannica's student center with information for all school subjects, media, dictionaries, biographies, animals, countries, and school resource guides.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition Start here and choose a level to explore, search and learn. Levels for Elementary, Middle and High School. Includes Resources for Teachers.
Back to Top

General Reference
Academic Journals Series of databases with 100's of journals covering a broad range of topics.
Academic OneFile Premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Expanded Academic ASAP From arts and humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.
General Reference Center Gold General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012.
PowerSearch (Gale, Boston Globe, Encyclopedia Britannica, Library Catalogs) PowerSearch makes it possible to find subjects from A-Z in one or several of Gale's periodical databases in a single search. Also search Boston Globe, Encyclopedia Britannica and statewide library catalogs from this portal.
Full Suite of Gale Databases Simplifies browsing through Gale's more than 20,000 publications, providing the ability to search across more than 150 million documents. The interface provides users a Web-like experience and includes added features that appeal to and empower library researchers.Key features provide more customization options for the user, allowing them to create their own custom profile. Users can modify the home page so that the topics and publications they are interested in are fed through RSS feeds right to the page at login. In addition, users have better navigation options such as the new Publication Browse with hover technology which allows users to see more publication details without clicking through.
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Includes a group of primary reference titles in a variety of subjects covering the arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Selected titles include:

  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
  • Macmillan - Biology
  • Contemporary Novelists
  • Major 21st Century Writers
  • Dictionary of American History
  • Ancient Greece & Rome Encyclopedia for Students
  • Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students
  • West's Encyclopedia of American Law
  • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
  • Encyclopedia of Education
  • Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
  • Encyclopedia of Religion
  • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
  • VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever
  • Gale - Encyclopedia of Cancer
  • Gale - Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
  • Gale - Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
  • Gale - Encyclopedia of Medicine
  • Gale - Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
  • Gale - Encyclopedia of Science
  • Gale - World Eras
  • Gale - 10 volumes on Essential Primary Sources Social Issues: Crime and Punishment, Environmental Issues, Family in Society, Gender Issues and Sexuality, Government, Politics, and Protest, Human and Civil Rights, Immigration and Multiculturalism, Medicine, Health and Bioethics, Social Policy, and Terrorism
Back to Top

Health
Health Reference Center Academic Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
Health and Wellness Resource Center A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Offers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals. Provides full-text coverage of many of the titles cited in CINAHL.
Nursing Resource Center Designed for nursing students, this brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams with full-text journals and core encyclopedia texts.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection Researchers and practitioners will find relevant, authoritative content, including over 100 titles covering these fields.
Back to Top

History
Annals of American History Annals of American History illuminate U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents—the original words of history-makers. Read Christopher Columbus on the "Discovery of the New World," Davy Crockett on "Frontier Politics," and much more.
Global Issues in Context International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events.
Massachusetts History Online Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to MA history.
Military and Intelligence Database This periodical list has been hand-selected by Gale editors to meet the content needs. Also contains the Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, the World Almanac and Book of Facts.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
US History Collection Well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
US History in Context Hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in US history.
War & Terrorism Collection A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events. Gain valuable insight to conflicts and their cause as well as their impact and how they are perceived on a global scale.
World Data Analyst Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.
World History in Context A compilation of journals providing robust and balanced coverage of the field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
World History Collection

Well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in world history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

 

Back to Top

Homework
Encyclopedia Britannica Links The largest most comprehensive encyclopedia in the world. The public library edition includes World Data Analyst, 4,000 videos, 34,000 images, links to 80,000 approved quality web sites, the Merriam Webster's Dictionary and Merriam Webster's Dictionary of Quotations. The public library kid's edition is also available via this link.
InfoTrac Junior Edition (Middle school) Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
InfoTrac Student Edition (High School) With over 1100 titles this multi-source database is designed for high-school students providing them with access to a variety of full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on topics most important to their curriculum including: current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Kids InfoBits (K-5) A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Hazen Homework Center A link to additional homework resources chosen by the Hazen Librarians.
Back to Top

Legal/Taxes
Criminal Justice Collection Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge, offering more than 700 journals.
Insurance & Liability Collection This collection, comprised of nearly 40 journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues and more.
Massachusetts General Laws Find a law by citation, popular name, subject, table of contents. Includes Current Acts and Resolves, and a step-by-step guide to tracing legislative history in Massachusetts.
Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries The easiest way to locate a lawyer, find state laws about a subject, legal forms, news and podcasts.
Massachusetts Taxes

Massachusetts Dept. of Revenue.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) IRS Forms and Publications.
Back to Top

Library Catalogs
Hazen Memorial Library Catalog Search the Shirley Public Library Catalog.
All C/W MARS Library Catalogs All Central and Western MA C/W Mars Library Catalogs.
Learning Express (Learn-A-Test) Worcester Public Library Online test preparation and math, reading and writing courses. Including: advanced placement, civil service, college entrance, graduate school entrance, college prep, US Citizenship, ASVAB and TOEFL.

To log in to Learn-a-Test:

New Users
  • Select "New User"
  • Your User Name starts with 01605, then the first 9 digits of your library card number (without D or spaces)
  • Create a password of your choice
  • Then you will be offered two options
  • Choose Worcester Public Library option
  • Click Update
Returning Users
  • Select "Returning User"
  • Login with your User Name and Password
Massachusetts Virtual Catalog The MA Virtual Catalog provides a single, searchable catalog of materials owned by participating academic and public libraries across Massachusetts. (Virtual Catalog is temporarily disabled)
C/W MARS Digital Library - Overdrive Patrons from member libraries can browse and search hundreds of ebooks, audios and videos with great titles available for download. Many devices are supported, including iPad, Nook and Kindle.
Back to Top

Magazines & Newspapers
Boston Globe Search full text of the Boston Globe, starting in 1980.
New York Times Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985)
Popular Magazines Features full-text coverage of 1,000 of the most searched magazines. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". Titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and even Oprah are included in this database.
Pop Culture Collection This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Back to Top

Science & Technology
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection Answers environmentally-related inquiries with coverage of more than 3.3 million articles from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Gale Science in Context Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
General Science Collection A custom collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
Information Science & Library Issues Collection Comprised of content from nearly 100 leading industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional. Coverage includes such topics as data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and information infrastructure.

Science Online

(requires library card)

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Funded by C/W MARS

Back to Top

Social Sciences
Global Issues in Context Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Psychology Collection This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This custom collection provides coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Two hundred and fifty subject-appropriate full-text periodicals are included.
Diversity Studies Collection A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Gender Studies Collection Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life and Issues collection.
Back to Top

Shirley Links
Town of Shirley Resources A listing of links and resources for the Town of Shirley, Massachusetts.
Back to Top

Funding for these online resources is provided by:

Get a BPL eCard

Massachusetts residents can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard via the web. BPL eCards are virtual library cards that allow users immediate access to Boston Public Library's extensive electronic resources - from archaeology and genealogy to history and science, homework help, historical newspapers, downloadable audio, video, music and more. For more information about eCards, please visit BPL's eCard FAQ.