Hazen Memorial LibraryHome | Hours | Calendar | Ask Us! Online | Your Account
Library Catalog
Research Help
Databases & Websites

Databases and Websites

Home use of this resource requires a valid library card.

People being helped at the library.

Acronyms  

The Acronym Database


Arts and Music For home access, this source requires your library card number.


   

General Reference Center Gold
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group "InfoTrac" ]Search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.


Automobiles  

Edmunds.com
Car prices, reviews, information.

   

Kelly Blue Book
Used car prices.

   

NADA
Used car prices.


Biographies For home access, this source requires your library card number.

Biography Resource Center
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group "InfoTrac" ]

   

Pulitzer Prizes


Books & Reading  

Overbooked
The site you've been looking for! Resources related to genre fiction - links, author information, new releases, booklists, reviews and more.

  For home access, this source requires your library card number.

Novelist
[ Home access here ]
An excellent resource for locating fiction books by theme, reviews and descriptions. Find awards lists in Best Fiction, New Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. Not to be missed!

   

HML's Books-On-Tape
Catalog list of our books-on-tape.

   

HML's Large Print Fiction Books
Catalog list of our large print fiction.

   

Oprah's Book Club


Business For home access, this source requires your library card number.

Business and Company ASAP
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group "Infotrac" ]
Comprehensive company data; business periodicals; Ward's Business Directory.

  For home access, this source requires your library card number.

General BusinessFile ASAP
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group "Infotrac" ]
Business and management topics. Directory listings. Investment analyst reports.

   

MassBedrock
Information about business and economic development in Massachusetts.


College Planning  

MassMentor and MassColleges.org
Hosted by the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts, provides comprehensive information about the college scene.

   

Google's University Search
A comprehensive list of links to colleges and universities.

   

College Planning Resource List
Database and Internet resources compiled by the Framingham Public Library.


Consumer Information  

Consumer Search
Locate product reviews.

   

Consumer Information Publications
From the Federal government.

   

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Consumer


Community Information  

Community Information Online
Descriptions and contact information for Central and Western Massachusetts organizations, clubs, services.

   

Community Information Database
For the Greater Boston area.


Elder Care  

Care Planner
A decision support tool for seniors, care givers, family, and professionals. From Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.


Government  

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

   

MA State Reps and Senators by City and Town

   

US House of Representatives

   

US Senate


Health  

The American Board of Medical Specialists
Searchable list of board-certified physicians.

   

Centers for Disease Control

 
  For home access, this source requires your library card number.

Health Reference Center-Academic
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group's "Infotrac" ]
Articles on health and wellness, family medicine, alternative medicine, nursing, mental health, senior health and allied health and health administration. Also contains full text to over 40 nursing and allied health journals and key reference books, including Mosby's Dictionary and the PDR Family Guide to Nutrition and Health.

   

Healthfinder

   

Massachusetts Physician Profiles

   

National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine

   

U.S. Pharmacopeia


Home Improvement  

Home Improvement Resources
List of print and electronic resources compiled by the Framingham Public Library.


Jobs & Careers  

Dice: Tech Jobs


Lists  

Resource Lists
List of resource lists on many topics compiled by the Framingham Public Library.


Magazine & Journal Articles For home access, this source requires your library card number.

Infotrac
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group "infoTrac" ]
Gale Group's InfoTrac consists of 11 separate databases which include full-text journal and magazine articles.


News For home access, this source requires your library card number.

Newsbank
[ Home access here, see: "Newsbank" ]
Newbank provides web-based access to each of these newspapers:

Boston Globe (1980 - current)
Boston Herald (1997 - current)
Worcester Telegram and Gazette (1989 - current)

   

Google News
Search and browse 4,000 continuously updated news sources.


Personal Finance  

Bank Rate Monitor
Rate tables and calculators.

   

Budget Planning

   

Money Matters: Take Control of Your Finances
A list of print and electronic resources compiled by the Framingham Public Library.


Science  



   

Expanded Academic ASAP
[ Home access here, see: Gale Group "Infotrac" ]
Find information on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences.


Search Engines  

Search Engines
Directory of specialty search engines
Search Engine Watch
A guide to the major search engines on the web.


Sports and Hobbies  

Sports and Hobbies
Minuteman Library Network's list of links to regional cycling, hiking, running activities and destinations; links to regional professional sports teams; links to regional organizations and much more.


Taxes  

IRS Forms and Publications
Massachusetts Tax Forms
Massachusetts Tax Help


Town of Shirley  

Detailed Community Profile

   

Shirley Historical Society

   

Weekday Train Schedule: Inbound   Outbound

   

Saturday Train Schedule: Inbound   Outbound

   

Sunday Train Schedule: Inbound   Outbound


Travel  

AmtraK

   

CDC's Traveler's Health

   

Local Holidays (International)

   

Petswelcome.com


Weather  

Local 7-day Forecast
U.S. NOAA National Weather Service


Zip Codes  

USPS Zip Code Lookup



Return to Top

Hazen Memorial Library   3 Keady Way   Shirley MA 01464
978.425.2620 • fax 978.425.2621 • tty 978.425.2661
Directions to the Library | Policies | Contact Us